Do I have to sell my car in order to get a diminshed value claim in the state of Arizona?

Do I have to sell my car in order to get a diminshed value claim in the state of Arizona?

The other person'-s insurance company is "-claiming"- that the diminished value damages must be "-actual"- and "-provable"- and may not be speculative. They claim that Arizona law does not recognize inherent damages. I would like to get this proof of diminished value without having to sell my car.

mbrcatz

What does your agent say? It's possible Arizona doesn't do dimunition of value. Check on the law, by discussing it with your agent.AND, go to a local auto consignment dealer. Ask them how much they could sell your car for, and then tell them about the accident, and how much they could sell it for after the accident. Have them put both figures in writing, on their letterhead. Voila! That's actual and provable.Worst case, you can always sue the other driver and owner in small claims court, using the above info to prove it, for your dimunition of value.FWIW, there really isn't any, in the real world, if your car is more than 7 years old. Also, it generally is about 10% of the incurred DAMAGES. That's just an FYI. So if you have a $10,000 car, with $3,000 of damages, expect about $300 in dimunition of value.Source(s):agent, 21+ years

oklatom

If a vehicle is damaged, and then repaired to as good or better than it was before it was ever damaged, how can there be any diminished value? Arizona is one of the states that doesn't recognize diminished value. Actually, only 10 states out of 50 recognize it in any form, so to prove diminished value you would indeed have to sell your car and prove you lost money on the sale because it was repaired, which is next to impossible to do.Those things that do reduce the value of a car are things like lowering, suspension modifications, and ground effects, not having a new hood put on.

Uwish

If you sell your car, then you no longer have a claim bc you no longer have the car.Source(s):Claims adjuster 6 yrs.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

What is the population of Detroit Michigan?
992,038Source(s):ask jeeves

Am I required to have Auto-insurance right after I get my license in WA state?
Since cars are insured, if you don't have a car, you have noting to insure. However, If you live with your parents and they have a car, read below:Insurance companies want to know about all licensed household members (it does not matter if they are young or old) so they can calculate their...

Are there attorneys who can erase items from your driving history?
there are no attorneys that can fix bad credit if it is legitimate, factual information on credit reports can not be "fixed" the same goes for your driving record

If you have Diabeties is it posible to get a DOT card?
Here's from the site I listed below:"AskTheTrucker.com Diabetes and the CDL Truck DriverNovember 26th, 2008 by Allen SmithThere still appears to be alot of confusion concerning whether or not persons with insulin diabetes are able to obtain a CDL license. For years, there was a ban that prevented...

How does car insurance work in America, and how much does it cost on average?
It is quite similar to the system in the UK. The terminology is different for different things but it is functionally the same.The US government does not regulate motor vehicle insurance. It is left up to the individual states to license and regulate insurers and pass whatever laws regarding...