How long do I have to report an auto claim?

How long do I have to report an auto claim?

Three months ago I hit a pillar avoiding a toddler in a parking garage, not that that matters, but whatever. I had JUST gotten insurance (like 2nd payment just) so I didn'-t want to make a claim. So I went to garages and got quotes and since it was $1600-2400 I figured I'-d save up for it. It'-s not looking like I'-m going to do that right away and I'-m worried that the vehicle will rust etc. Can I still make a claim or is it too late?I'-m in AB, Canada and I'-m with TD. Any advice would be appreciated.

doctorOr

I don't think this would differ provincially, but I checked with a claims adjuster at Canada's largest home and auto insurer, Intact (the adjuster works in Ontario). In all likelihood, your claim will be covered. I am told that claims are routinely reported late in many cases. For example, someone hits a bump in the road, and realizes 2-3 months later that the undercarriage of the car is damaged. It could be for any other reason as well. The only case where you could have problems is if the insurance company suspects that the damage was pre-exisiting (before you signed up for the policy). But as long as your story lines up with the extent of damage, you should be fine. Just be direct and honest as to why you didn't report the claim. Keep in mind that, because this is single vehicle accident, it is at fault for you, and could affect your rates, or you eligibility for insurance in future depending on your past record.Insurance exists to compensate you for accidental damage to your property, and as long as the accident happened after the policy started, even one day, it should be covered.Source(s):Checked with a claims adjusterCIP (Chartered Insurance Professional)

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Why did geico increase my auto insurance rate for no reason?
Andrew, unfortunately most states allow insurance companies to request rate increases twice each year. And even more unfortunately, they are almost always approved as long as it's what the state insurance department considers "within reason".You can contact the Texas Dept of Insurance www.tdi...

How do you get a dealer's license in Texas for auto auctions?
First you need garage liability insurance, which is mandatory in most every state. That runs $2500-3500 per year depending on your age & driving record.A retailer requires a place of business, a legit car lot.A wholesaler doesn't need that but can only buy & sell to dealers.In other words,...

Is allstate insurance company good for auto insurance?
I switched from State Farm a few months ago, they always had random rate hikes and I just couldn't take it anymore. I switched to Nationwide and I LOVE them, my agent is amazing, my rates are lower, and every 6 months he calls and asks what's new in my life to try and lower my rates even more...

How can Americans put a stop to illegal immigration?
Glad You ASKED! Support House Congressional Resolution 40 that will end the globalization process of Nafta that is trying to unify the U.S. Canada and Mexico..More info available though the congress and Numbersusa.com, v-dare.com, alipac.com, Support this measure and Rep Virgil Good who is...

What can you tell me about auto insurance deductibles?
Deductibles are the portion of the claim you are willing to pay. The higher the deductible, the less the insurance company has to pay, so they don’t need as much premium.Choose the highest deductible you are comfortable with. Some people don’t want to worry about having to pay anything if...