How long is the grace period for the monthly payments for GMAC auto insurance?

How long is the grace period for the monthly payments for GMAC auto insurance?

Had some unexpected expenses arise and I may have to wait a week after the due date to make my next payment. I'-ve never had to do this and it wouldn'-t be any longer than a week, but I just want to make sure my coverage doesn'-t lapse if I have to do this.

Sue

It depends on the laws of your state. The standard auto policy states the insurance company has to give you a minimum of 10 days on a cancellation notice. The cancellation notice will usually be issued between 1 & 10 days after the due date of the bill. Your state can either use the 10 days or give more (my state gives 15 but a neighboring state gives the standard 10). Now, if this is a renewal policy, it is different. Most companies still use the cancellation notice days as per state law but some companies can let the policy expire without the standard cancellation notice. It will be stated on your renewal bill if the policy just expires at renewal if no payment is received by that date. Some companies use the postmark date, some companies use the received date. Now, if you have an agent, payment to the agent is payment to the company so if you take the payment to your agent, this will be considered the received date. Also, now many companies take payments online & on the phone.To be sure, the best place to check is with the billing department of the company or your agent.

mbrcatz

There is no "grace period" for auto insurance.There is a DUE date, and if the payment isn't made by the due date, they issue a CANCELLATION notice, giving you XYZ more days to pay, before the policy is CANCELLED.The number of days they give you to pay, varies. Some states as few as five days, some as many as 20 days. It varies by state, according to state law. But the cancellation goes into effect at 12:01am, ON THAT DATE. And they don't have to honor the meter date, either.Source(s):agent, 21+ years

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

When a Texas resident has an auto accident in Minnesota- a no fault insurance state?
In every state except Michigan the term "No-Fault" refers only to how and who pays the medical of an injured person. It means that no matter who is at-fault your own insurance company pays your medical bills.Who pays for car damages in MN are still based on negligence. The accident will be...

What is the best color for a auto in Arizona?
light color, white, sand, or silver with light color cloth interior.

Any one know about car insurance for teenage driver in north carolina?
there are too many variables to give you a quote. the cheapest way for you to get by is on a liability only vehicle. if your parents ahve a policy, get added to theirs. this way you get the benefit of them being a homeowner, their credit score, and their multi car discount. its going to...

What is the cost of auto insurance in Florida?
Prices vary from relatively little money to a lot of money.The way it is done is you go to an insurance site, fill a form, hit a button and you'll get your price.This is where I go to http://car-insurance.moneysavecenter.com…or even http://car-insurance.moneysavecenter.com…They are similar...

Fined for interstate licence after 3 months in new state but havent lived here for 3 months what can be done?
Well bloddy H*ll. In Oklahoma moving to Texas you only have one week to get a Texas drivers licence. Car title regristration can run out but you must also have Texas Auto Insurance and Get your State of Texas Inspection Sticker. Everywhere is different laws vary. Get that unpaid fine taken...