How much auto insurance coverage should I carry???

How much auto insurance coverage should I carry???

If you are involved in an at fault accident and/or your vehicle is stolen and you can afford a $1000 deductible, go ahead and increase your deductible. If not, keep the $500.Don'-t mess with those liability limits. State minimum requirements will not protect you if you are legally responsible for a severe injury and or a significant amount of property damage. Your insurance will pay up to the limits, and you are still on the hook for any settlement/judgment beyond your limits. What are your PD limits? You should have at least $50k. What happens if you rearend a new Mercedes and total it? AZ'-s minimum limits will not be enough.Source(s):Claims Professional

Luna

u'll pay that much in those states down south, trying moving up to the northern states and u'll drop a few hundred

mysteriousman

u'll pay that much in those states down south, trying moving up to the northern states and u'll drop a few hundred

sixoneurdun

get a $500 deductible not $1000I'd recommend somewhere in the middle unless your a riskydriver you don't want to have just the minimum but you probably do not need the highest either.as you get older have a better car get more.Minimum levels of required auto insuranceBy Insure.comAll 50 states have different requirements when it comes to auto insurance. In some states, motorists can't register a car without showing proof that they have liability insurance, while other states use an "honor system" that doesn't ask for proof of insurance until drivers have accidents or tickets on their records.Only two states do not require motorists to carry liability coverage, but those that do demand that drivers purchase at least the state's minimum. In other words, if you live in a state that requires liability insurance, you can't walk into your insurance agent's office and buy only $2,000 worth of liability coverage. If you're going to buy it, you must purchase at least the minimum amount required.How to read liability limitsThe following information will help you understand the table of liability limits.First number: bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.Second number: bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.Third number: property damage liability maximum for one accident.So, looking at the table, you find that in Alabama the minimum liability limits are $20,000 for injury liability for one person in an accident, $40,000 for all injuries in an accident, and $10,000 for property damage in an accident.What is no-fault?Some states have "no-fault" laws, meaning your auto policy must pay medical bills for injuries suffered in an auto accident regardless of who caused the accident. The laws were enacted in an attempt to reduce auto-injury fraud and keep car insurance costs down.State Liability required? Liability minimums (in thousands of dollars) PIP required? No-fault state? Uninsured motorist coverage required?Alabama Yes, 20/40/10 No No NoAlaska Yes, 50/100/25 No No NoArizona Yes, 15/30/10 No No NoArkansas Yes, 25/50/25 Yes No NoCalifornia (1) Yes, 15/30/5 No No NoColorado Yes, 25/50/15 No No NoConnecticut Yes, 20/40/10 No No YesDelaware Yes, 15/30/10 Yes No NoFlorida (2) No, 10/20/10 Yes Yes NoGeorgia Yes, 25/50/25 No No NoHawaii Yes, 20/40/10 Yes Yes NoIdaho Yes, 25/50/15 No No NoIllinois Yes, 20/40/15 No No YesIndiana Yes, 25/50/10 No No NoIowa Yes, 20/40/15 No No NoKansas Yes, 25/50/10 Yes Yes YesKentucky Yes, 25/50/10 Yes Yes NoLouisiana Yes, 10/20/10 No No NoMaine (3) Yes, 50/100/25 No No YesMaryland (4) Yes, 20/40/15 Yes No YesMassachusetts Yes, 20/40/5 Yes Yes YesMichigan Yes, 20/40/10 Yes Yes NoMinnesota Yes, 30/60/10 Yes Yes YesMississippi Yes, 25/50/25 No No NoMissouri Yes, 25/50/10 No No YesMontana Yes, 25/50/10 No No NoNebraska Yes, 25/50/25 No No NoNevada Yes, 15/30/10 No No NoNew Hampshire No, 25/50/25 No No YesNew Jersey (5) Yes, 15/30/5 Yes Yes YesNew Mexico Yes, 25/50/10 No No NoNew York (6) Yes, 25/50/10 Yes Yes YesNorth Carolina Yes, 30/60/25 No No NoNorth Dakota Yes, 25/50/25 Yes Yes YesOhio Yes, 12.5/25/7.5 No No NoOklahoma Yes, 25/50/25 No No NoOregon Yes, 25/50/10 Yes No YesPennsylvania Yes, 15/30/5 Yes Yes NoRhode Island (2) Yes, 25/50/25 No No YesSouth Carolina Yes, 25/50/25 No No YesSouth Dakota Yes, 25/50/25 No No YesTennessee (2) Yes, 25/50/10 No No NoTexas Yes, 25/50/25 No No NoUtah (2) Yes, 25/50/15 Yes Yes NoVermont Yes, 25/50/10 No No YesVirginia Yes, 25/50/20 Yes No YesWashington Yes, 25/50/10 No No NoWashington D.C. Yes, 25/50/10 No No YesWest Virginia Yes, 20/40/10 No No YesWisconsin No, 25/50/10 No No YesWyoming Yes, 25/50/20 No No No1) Low-cost policy limits for drivers in the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan are 10/20/3.(2) Instead of policy limits, policyholders can satisfy the requirement with a single combined policy. Amounts vary by state.(3) In addition, policyholders must carry $1,000 for medical payments.(4) PIP may be waived for the policyholder but it is compulsory for passengers.(5) Basic policy (optional) limits are 10/10/5. UM/UIM coverage is not available under a basic policy but UIM is required under a standard policy.(6) In addition, policyholders must have 50/100 for wrongful death coverage.EDIT: call you insurance company and ask them, I was thinking the same as you and found out that, lowering the coverage did not save a lot of money so I just left it like it was. they might even have a website that you can adjust the coverages and get diff prices.Source(s):http://www.insure.com/articles/carinsura…

missy

It depends on which state you live in. Each state has a certain amount you have to carry to be legal. It also depends on how old the car is and what kind of shape it is in.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

How many nonstandard auto insurance companies are doing business in the United States?
Well, the biggest nonstandard auto carrier, would be each state's auto insurance program of last resort - that would be facility auto, assigned risk, it goes by lots of different names. If you exclude those, I can think of maybe a dozen companies off the top of my head.But I'm probably missing...

In Ontario, how does auto insurance work? Do you need to insure yourself as a driver and your car separately?
Yes you insure the car and yourself as the driver and then can add drivers and more coverage to the policy if you want to.Basically you must get a standard coverage such as 1 million dollar liability or basic coverage if driving it.Hope that helps and best of luck.By the way shop around for...

Is a motorcycle endorsement necessary to cross the border into Mexico from the USA? Does a permit suffice?
Your valid drivers licence should do, you will need to get Mexico Auto Insurance and will need all of your registration and obtain a Temporary Vehicle permit to bring your moto in beyond the free zone into Mexico depends on how far in you are going. check with Mexico Connects onlineSource(s):work...

What to do when switching car insurance?
You shouldn't lie about anything because the motor vehicle records are scanned and they will see everything anyway.Add: if you went to traffic school to reduce a ticket, that won't be on your record. As long as you satisfied the requirements of the court that is. Insurance agents don't "want"...

What can you tell me about auto insurance deductibles?
Deductibles are the portion of the claim you are willing to pay. The higher the deductible, the less the insurance company has to pay, so they don’t need as much premium.Choose the highest deductible you are comfortable with. Some people don’t want to worry about having to pay anything if...