How much does it cost to register a passenger vehicle in your province or state?

How much does it cost to register a passenger vehicle in your province or state?

Here in Alberta, Canada a non-commercial passenger vehicle costs $69. a year to register. That fee covers the auto license only- no insurance. For that meagre fee, one can register the tiniest Smart Car to the most obscene Hummer. I want to compare that rate to the cost of registering a vehicle around North America, especially sliding rates, those that depend on the size of the vehicle.

oklatom

Some states have a flat fee for registration, others have a complicated and convoluted formula for figuring it out. In my state, Oklahoma for an example:Flat fee, value and age: $15.00 plus 1.25%of the factory delivered price. Fee for2nd through 12th year is $15.00 plus90 percent of the previous year's percentagefee. The fee will be the same for the 12thyear through the 20th year. A $1.75 admin.fee and a $3.00 general revenue fund feeare included in columns (2) through (4). The$15.00 registration fee is eliminated forvehicles 21 years or older.If you'd like to see it for other states, I've included a table here:Source(s):http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/ohim/hwytaxes/20…

pooh

here in california it depends on the year and model of car and price of the car.

martycohen

I have a chevy caprice wagon, a mazda miata, and a jeep liberty...they all cost around 120-160 USD per year to register here in Michigan...this is one of the cheapest states in the union

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Have you been selected to work for a financial company despite having bad credit?
It may depend on the position. If what you would do entails handling funds, the protocol might be more restrictive. If you are doing maintenance, it's probably less. The medical issue in a mitigating circumstance that will help. Another aspect of this is that credit ratings are often used...

What is an average auto insurance cost for a sedan in Alberta?
The only way you're going to get an accurate estimate will be to contact a local insurance agent for a quote.

I have been rear ended twice in the past 5 months, what are my options?
As a former auto claim adjuster, I had a policyholder who sustained 3 rear end accidents in 6 months and we would laugh that she must have a sign on the back of her car that stated "please hit me". So, it happens more than you think, you was just unlucky to be in 2, but the good news is that...

How to open a used auto dealership?
I had a used car dealership in New Jersey, USA. I will answer your question based on my experience. You will have to research Canada laws and licensing. First you need a properly zoned facility. Then you need a dealer's license. Insurance. Tax ID number. Notary license or access to a Notary...

Starting A Car Lot?
There are several sources of credit for auto dealers out there but you may need some help with a co-signer to acquire the lines of credit. Google "auto dealer floor plan" or "floor plan financing" and you will find sources that have floor plan lines of credit for dealerships.The state of the...