If my address to my home is a Kentucky address, can I get my car plated and registered in Tennessee?

If my address to my home is a Kentucky address, can I get my car plated and registered in Tennessee?

My husband and I just purchased a new car last week. We live on fort Campbell, which is split directly in half, half is Tennessee the other half Kentucky. Our address is on the Kentucky side. With that being said, are we able to get the new car plated and registered in tennessee or does it have to be out of Kentucky?

Patricia

Your address is KY. You live in KY. You must register your car in KY.Source(s):TN resident

Billmeister

Make sure that your car insurance reflects the right address or you can have a headache later on in case something happens.

fire4511

I assume you are military. A military member, or a dependent who is living with them (spouse / child) can register their car either in their home state of record, or in the state where they are assigned.Living on a base that is in two states, you can register in either one. Register where it is cheaperIf you have not done so, look into USAA auto insurance, they are set up to provide coverage to military members and their families.Thank you and your husband for your service and sacrificeSource(s):33 years in the auto business

zigzigfan

It has to be registered where the car is parked at night. So if you drive out of the garage in Kentucky, that's where it has to be filed. Downside of this is fines for not having it registered properly. Risk you can take, or not.Source(s):Insurance Agent

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

When should you receive a Proof of Insurance Policy from your Agency?
You can call your agent and have them fax/email one to you or even better, some of the Insurance companies have the ability to have you print one out online. If you don't get the answer you need, I would go to the office and insist they print some kind of proof out for you. Good luck!

What is the cheapest auto insurance for a 19 year old female?
Yes. It will be much cheaper for you to start off on your parent's policy than on your own. A single 19 year old female on a policy will be expensive no matter what company you choose. If you start with your parents and build up a good history with their company, you can get the company...

Can you pay monthy with NJ CURE auto insurance?
You can ask them.Not having any experience with this company myself, I'd caution you that these might be 'bait rates' and once you pay them the first check, you could see a substantial increase in premium, once they finally underwrite you.