If you get convicted of a DWI in Texas, do you have to tell your car insurance right away?

If you get convicted of a DWI in Texas, do you have to tell your car insurance right away?

If you get convicted of a DWI in Texas, do you have to tell your car insurance right away or wait till they find out, and then raise the rates?I have a friend that heard a rumor that you have to file some sort of SR24 (not exactly what it is) with your car insurance or if you get in an accident and they find out you have one on your record, they won'-t pay for the car. I'-m confused, but dont want to hang ourselves either.

mbrcatz

You don't have to tell them, they'll find out.That SR22 form is an endorsement on your auto policy - you USUALLY have to have it, if you've been driving WITHOUT insurance, or your license has been suspended. It's not triggered by the DUI, it's triggered by the suspension or lack of insurance.Yes, they'll find out about that DUI on their own - they're going to run a motor vehicle record check every time your policy renews, and they'll find it then. Don't listen to rumors. When in doubt, talk to your agent.Source(s):agent, 21+ years

Lori

An SR-22 is a requirement of the Dept of Motor Vehicles in many states when you have too many accidents, DUI (DWI) and the like. It shows the DMV that you have met your states requirements for minimum (at least) insurance coverage and financial responsibility. Your insurance will have to issue it and you will have to keep it on file at the DMV for at least 3 years in order to remain licensed.No sense in delaying the inevitable-contact your insurance company and let them know so that the SR-22 can be filed. They will find out eventually. Plus you don't want to compound your troubles by having your license suspended unecessarily.

kapn

Any change in insurablity needs to be reported to your carrier right away...if you have a claim and they find you have a DUI your coverage will be terminated....I hope the booze was worth it ....cause you've just began the pay back.....and its gonna be expensive....at least you didn't kill yourself worse yet someone else.

ronald

You did it so now fess up to the insurance co.They will be glad to hear from you.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Should i have my g2 licence for sure to get my auto insurance?
With insurance your G1 is considered a learners permit. Obviously you know that you can only operate a vehicle with a fully licensed driver with you. A lot of online quoting systems are geared towards the norm so when you attempt to get a quote online and mention the G1 is it not configured...

What if auto insurance does not fully cover property damages?
This happens more than people realize.You buy the required amount of minimum liability coverage required by law in the state where you live. In some states, (CA) is a good example, the minimum required is only $5,000..........So, since the coverage is not enough, they will go after you personally...

What would lawyer costs for an auto insurance company be?
Some insurance companies consider a lawyer's fees the cost of doing business. So they don't really give that consideration when they value a claim.They also know that if you hire a lawyer and sue - you will have to pay your lawyer 1/2 of your settlement plus expenses - a smart adjuster will...

If someone hits your car, does their insurance company have to give you the check?
People are giving you RIDICULOUSLY bad answers here- don't get a lawyer and don't call the BBB. It sounds like you just have a miscommunication.Pick up the phone and call the adjuster. Say, "Mr/Ms Adjuster, I do not want to have my vehicle fixed at Shop X, and I haven't decided yet what I...