Is there any way to get around going to jail for 3rd time DWI in NC?

Is there any way to get around going to jail for 3rd time DWI in NC?

3rd conviction- first was a DUI i heard there is a minimum 30 day sentence. Curious if there is any loopholes or alternatives to going to jail. No negative slap-on-the-hand answers please.

KC

North Carolina Third Offense DWIA North Carolina third offense DWI is a Misdemeanor offense. A third offense conviction carries the following fines and penalties:Jail time: The minimum jail sentence for a third offense conviction is 14 days or up to the maximum jail sentence of 2-years. The length of the jail sentence term beyond the minimum will be at the court's discretion based upon the circumstances surrounding your case and all previous convictions.Fines: The maximum fine amount for a third offense will be up to $2,000 plus court costs. At the court's discretion they may order you to just serve jail time versus paying any fine amounts. Even if the court orders you to serve jail time in lieu of any fines, you will still have to pay any court costs.License Revocation: The mandatory revocation period for a third offense violation is 4-years if there no previous convictions within the past 5-years. If you have had at least one other conviction within the past 5-year period your license will be revoked for life.Before the North Carolina DMV will reinstate your license following your revocation period you will be required to show proof of financial responsibility in the form of a North Carolina SR22 insurance policy that meets the states minimum auto insurance liability coverage limits.DWI Assessment: You will be required to have a DWI assessment done, the cost of the assessment is currently $100.Ignition Interlock: Third time offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle prior to having their license reinstated. The installation and monthly service costs of the device will be at your expense.Source(s):Police Officer +30 years

ricardo9505

get a good laywer pronto. and move up here to the Northeast. sorry but having been down south, many laws are so @-s-s backwards. best of luck and hang in there. things will turn out ok. now start looking for a good lawyer and get funds together for a retainer fee.

ornery

Hopefully not ... but if you spend enough cash on a lawyer they can probably get you some alternative.Get a good lawyer that specializes in drunk driving defenses (plenty of them in the phone book, lots of demand!) and take their advice.

nas88car300

no there is no way around itand if it is close to your last conviction plan getting more than the min and closer to the max

Jason

Yes. Pretty please stop drinking. Please stop breaking the law.*slaps you upside the head*

Barlow

I am so glad I am not you.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Why do auto insurance company need your date of birth and a Credit check before getting insurance?
Some places do not check your credit. Here's the reasons they ask for and require the info depending on the company. Date of birth will classify the applicant in age groups that "show" how typical driver's in that age range drive, how many accidents they have reported, as well as other driving...

Is it worth changing to AARP for auto and home insurance?
AARP is a club. They don't sell insurance. They refer their subscribers over to a company like Hartford. They shop the insurance out every year, and every year, you could be shifting to a different company. Yehaw.The rates you get, will vary wildly depending on where you live. There's...

Why do liberals compare the health care mandate to auto insurance mandates?
Some do, some don't.Most simply point out that it was A REPUBLICAN - Mitt Romney - who developed the model - in which he pointed out that it's simply a matter of PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY to purchase Health Care Insurance.So - he MANDATED it.But of course - if Democrats do it ... it's called...

Can i drive in Canada with a Washington State drivers permit?
http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw…Driving in Canada is similar to driving in parts of the United States . Distances and speeds, however, are posted in kilometers per hour, and some signs, particularly in Quebec , may only be in French. U.S. driver's licenses are valid in Canada ....

I am looking for a late model used car....?
If you want to save gas go for a honda civic. I have a civic right now and it gives me over 32+ mpg.Those cars will last over 250,000 miles with no problems.If you can find a 92 and up civic ex with 150k and nothing is wrong. You should pay no more then $1500 for it. I think you can find a...