NJ DUI question or any other state jail sentence fines?

NJ DUI question or any other state jail sentence fines?

A freind of mine got into a accident whereas one of the occupants was seriously injured. He was driving on a suspended licence at the time. He also was over the DUI BAC limit. This is his secound DUI offence. How bad could the fines be or how much jail time.

Bubba

Here is NJ sentence & fines but remember is could be much more serious when occupants are seriously hurt. You go to the front of the longer/harder sentancingJail time: The minimum jail sentence for a second offense is 48 consecutive hours and the maximum jail sentence for a second offense conviction is 90 days. The minimum jail sentence of 48 hours cannot be suspended by the court. The actual amount of jail time served beyond the mandatory minimum, if any will be at the courts discretion.Fines: The fines for a second offense conviction are between $500 and $1,000 plus applicable court costs.You will also have to pay additional fees totaling $1,325, $50 goes to VCCB, $100 goes to DDEF, $75 goes to SNSF, $1,000 for DUI (for 3-years), and $100 is a general surcharge.License Suspension: Your driver's license will be suspended for 2-years following a second offense conviction.Before the DMV will reinstate your license following your suspension period you will be required to show proof of financial responsibility in the form of a New Jersey SR22 insurance policy that meets the states minimum auto insurance liability coverage limits.Ignition Interlock: Second time offenders may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for between 1-year and 3-years. If an IID is required the MVC will require proof of the installation prior to reinstating your license.Community Service: You will be required to perform 30 days of community service as part of your second offense conviction.Alcohol Treatment: You may be required to participate in an intoxicated driver resource center or IDRC for 12 to 48 hours. The cost for the IDRC treatment will be $280 per day at your expense.

Alex

well with out the car accident just driving over the limit bac and second offense and suspended liscence in iowa he could do up to a month in jail and its gonna cost him close to 4-5k add on the accident he is going to get SUED go to your friend say ur good byes see him in a couple of years tell him to buy the best lawyer he can go get a loan

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Car Insurance for a friend?
The problem is a leased vehicle would require collision and liability insurance (i.e. "full coverage" or "both ways") and that would add to the cost of insuring the vehicle. And letting insurance lapse is a good way to get a leased vehicle repoed, since if your friend crash the car when she...

I just moved and am looking to find some cheap Massachusetts Auto Insurance. Can anyone recommend a place?
You should research patiently, and get quotes from different insurers -take your time. A used car, and a clean driving record will definitively help you have lower rates. I had to do a lot of research and estimates because my old car broke, so I ended up leasing a new Honda, and insurance in...

If I am bringing my Maryland car with me to Canada when going to work, are there special applications required?
If you just go on a short trip, less than 90 days. You ONLY need to confirm that your insurance includes Canada.If you stay for over 90 days, there is a whole new set of rules:To import a car for free, you need to have owned it, registered in your name for over 18 months.It must be fully paid...

Are my parents responsible for injury in an auto accident caused by me?
Yes your parents are liable. I was in a wreck when I was 17 in 2004. The other party was injured when I hit them. My parents are currently being sued for this wreck. You are considered a minor in the court of law until you are 21. So therefore, my parents are liable for my wreck. I "supposivley"...

What type of car insurance should I get in Michigan?
Michigan is a wierd state for insurance. If your car is worth anything, you will have to have physical damage coverage. Reason: If you are in an accident, the most you can collect is $500.00 from the other insurance company ( it is called a mini tort) unless you ae legally parked at the...