Why does registration for a newer car cost more than an older?

Why does registration for a newer car cost more than an older?

Registering my 2011 vehicle in California costs 2.5 times ($249) more than my '-94 vehicle ($99). I understand with auto insurance there'-s a premium to insure the newer vehicle because it is valued more, and if I get into an accident, it would cost the insurance company more for repairs/replacement for the newer vehicle. I can'-t imagine an accident with either car would cost the gov'-t any differently, so why is there an "-age discrimination"- being applied here? I have a feeling this is some BS fee. Am I right, or can someone please clarify.

Allison

California bases their car registration fees on the value of the car, so a newer car will cost more to register than an old one. It's part of that "tax the rich" philosophy. It's just like your insurance premium. Car accidents DON'T cost the government any thing (unless public property is damaged) Where did you get that idea?Source(s):So Cal gal.

oklatom

Because CA puts in a tax on registration fees that is a percentage of the value of the vehicle being registered. Most states do.

Scott

Most states base their registration fees on value or age. My 1991 Bronco costs 1/10th what my 2011 Harley Davidson costs to register in AZ.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Can i get auto insurance from TD without having a bank account with them?
No you do not. If they did that would be called tied selling which is illegal.

My friend is a lawyer in NJ and is a really good personal injury lawyer how can get more business?
Advertise - that's what usually brings in the clients (on the plaintiff's side). I assume that's what your friend wants - is plaintiff's work.If he wants defense work, tell him to join non-law groups - insurance associations (he can mingle with claims adjusters), his local ethnic group association...

Can insurance companies keep you from getting a better quote?
Your motor vehicle report will show you were involved in an accident if the police were called.Your CLUE report will show any claims you have filed.Insurance companies don't tell other companies how much to charge you. Each company charges you based on your driving record and their particular...

Are you allowed to drive your parents' car with their permission without auto insurance?
Depending on how old you are, if you have a drivers license and your parents' permission, in some states you can legally drive their vehicle and be covered by their insurance, because the insurance covers the vehicle.I know it is true in my state up to age 25 but I don't know for sure about...